On the nightstand

Posted: January 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Prodigal God: Recovering the Heart of the Christian Faith by Tim Keller- I had heard of Keller years ago but only started looking at some of his work recently. I quickly understood why he has gained such respect among evangelicals. He’s amazingly rational yet very pastoral. Not to mention, the dude is Yoda smart, and his insights into Jesus’ parable of the two lost sons has completely changed the way that I view a story that I’ve read and heard preached countless times. Overarchingly, he also shows how much of the Church is missing the heart of the Christian faith (as the sub-title implies). In between the irreligious approach and the religious approach lies the Gospel. Keller does a masterful job of detailing what the three approaches look like and the ramifications there of.

Rescuing Ambition by Dave Harvey- Started this awhile back but wasn’t ambitious enough to finish.

There have been times when I’ve tried to read books that were just not meeting me where I was at only to pick them up later and feel as though I was reading an entirely different book. This one would qualify. As God has recently re-kindled dreams that He placed on my heart, I feel like C.J. Mahaney’s words in the Forward will likely prove true: “years from now, you’ll remember where you were when you first read this book…” 

Doctrine: What Christians Should Believe by Mark Driscoll and Gerry Breshears- Put plainly, no one has been more influential to my walk with Jesus from afar than Driscoll has. God has used him in extraordinary ways.

Of the many things I love and appreciate about Mark is his steadfast commitment to sound doctrine. I’m still early in the book and at over 450 pages there will be a lot to take in. The book is a theological heavyweight but seems to be written in a very readable style.

The Bible by God- Going back to the beginning. To Genesis. Left off at Chapter 13.

God’s Word to us. Amazing…     

                            

Comments
  1. Matt says:

    Joe, it sounds like you’ve got some very interesting books. I’ve always wanted to read that book by Driscoll. I really think I’d like it.

Leave a Reply

